Links to Strategies Resources

Strategies for the Settlers of Catan game and its expansions.

Links to Strategies Resources

Postby steve » Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:04 am

For ease of access, here are links to some of the strategy sections on the site:

Settlement Placement Guide
Settlers of Catan Strategy
5-6 Player Expansion Strategy
Seafarers Strategy
Cities and Knights Strategy

If anyone has any other links to strategy resources online for Settlers of Catan, feel free to post them below.
Last edited by steve on Thu Mar 25, 2010 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
steve

Re: Links to Strategies Resources

Postby Sheepherder » Thu Aug 06, 2009 5:42 pm

I recently started playing Settlers of Catan and thanks to the strategies explained on this site, I have been able to acquire several victories among my friends and family. I have had tons of success with the longest road/settlements strategy and some with the largest army/cities strategy, but I haven't been able to figure out the third strategy. I seem to spread myself to thin and waste a lot of resources when I go for this one.
Sheepherder

Postby steve » Wed Aug 19, 2009 1:05 pm

glad to hear the site's been of some help :P The third strategy is definitely a bit tricky, mostly only something to go for if your initial settlement deployment sets you up for it.
steve

Postby MikaHarrow » Mon Mar 01, 2010 11:40 pm

I have read through your strategies and they have helped me a lot, I have kind of created my own but I based it off yours and off this one here;

http://giantrobotgames.com/products/the ... board-game

Appreciate you sharing your knowledge, keep it up!
MikaHarrow

Postby steve » Fri Mar 12, 2010 5:02 pm

Glad to hear you've gotten some use from the strategies as well, MikeHarrow. I enjoyed reading the article you posted - great idea to give a quick summary of strategies for new players. Your explanation of how many dots to get with settlements will definitely help any new player.
steve